Bethel Music ‘For The Sake Of The World’ Review

Bethel For The Sake Of The World Review

Bethel Live are gearing up to release their all-new, full-length CD/DVD, ‘For The Sake Of The World,’ on 1st October 2012. Recorded live at Bethel Church (Redding, CA), the project features original worship songs led by Brian and Jenn Johnson, Jeremy Riddle, William Matthews and Steffany Frizzell-Gretzinger.

‘To Our God’ is the album opener and a congregational worship song, which describes to whom we give our praise too. When the song reaches “Make His praise, glorious, glorious, glorious… Shout His name, glorious, glorious, glorious,” the song lifts from being atmospheric to ignited being with passionate worship.

‘You Have Won Me’ gives lots of space and time for the message of the song to be established, telling a story of how Jesus has won us… “Grace, You shown me grace, You’ve lifted my shame, You’ve drawn me with loving kindness, washed whiter than snow, You have redeemed and made me whole.” The guitars drive the melody while thumping drums bring a ferocity and passion to the worship.

The spontaneous worship of ‘I Really Love You’ took me to many moments where I’ve been in a worship service and the place has erupted in spontaneous praise.

‘Forgiven’ felt really close to home… I don’t know if it’s just me but it sounds really British, like it would be at home on a Delirious? album. As I listened to the song it made me think about the forgiveness I’ve received through Jesus and made me grateful that His forgiveness was for me even though I don’t deserve it.

I enjoyed ‘Freedom’ and singing along to the chorus, “Where the Spirit of the Lord is there is freedom… Every chain is broken through you Jesus…” such an infectious, uplifting song that will have you dancing… Dancing yourself free.

“Your love has lavished my heart and taken me over, taken me over, and all I want is to be with you forever.” The way these lyrics are sung on ‘Closer’ hit harder than a ton of bricks falling from the sky. I felt an awakening within and a yearning that is described perfectly by the chorus… “So pull me a little closer, take me a little deeper, I wanna know your heart, I wanna know your heart, cuz you love is so much sweeter than anything I’ve tasted, I wanna know your heart, I wanna know your heart.”

‘This Is What You Do’ is a nice melodious Pop Rock song with awesome atmospheric guitar lines, hard hitting drums and is sure to be a new Bethel anthem. “It’s always like spring time with You, making all things new. Your light is breaking through the dark…” will stay on the lips of many as the experience the refreshing and renewing of God.

‘For The Sake Of The World’ had many ‘moments’ but the spontaneous moments really stood out as genuine moments of an overflow of worship.

The overall production of the album is great and really captures a different sounding Bethel‘For The Sake Of The World’ sounds different to albums past and a little more experimental in how the songs are put together leaning towards a British sound (in my opinion) similar to that of Delirious?, Worship Central and Soul Survivor projects.

If you love worship songs, and lyrics that will connect your heart to the heart of God then ‘For The Sake Of The World’ is a great choice for worship collection.

Track Listing:

  • To Our God
  • Our Father
  • Everything To You
  • This Is Amazing Grace
  • You Have Won Me
  • I Really Love You
  • Who You Are
  • Forgiven
  • In Your Light
  • Freedom
  • Closer
  • This Is What You Do
  • For The Sake Of The World


Reviewed By Matt Brooks

Website | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | iTunes

1 Comment

  1. Adam & Matt Brooks (@mbriomusic)

    September 12, 2012 at 6:32 pm

    Have a read of @MattJABrooks’ review of @BethelMusic ‘For The Sake Of The World’ here: #Worship #CCM

Leave a Reply