IHOP’s Misty Edwards Releases Creative, Concept Album ‘Little Bird’

IHOP's Misty Edwards Releases Creative, Concept Album Little Bird

Dove-nominated singer/songwriter Misty Edwards will release her newest and 4th studio album, ‘Little Bird,’ from Forerunner Music, the official record label of the International House of Prayer of Kansas City (IHOPKC). Available on 29th December through digital and retail outlets everywhere and distributed through New Day Distribution, Edwards will premiere songs from her creative solo offering, ‘Little Bird,’ during the International House of Prayer’s annual Onething Conference in Kansas City, MO (28th – 31st December).

Those who attend IHOPKC and its annual Onething Conference, a premier event that draws approximately 25,000 church leaders and young people from congregations all across the globe, know the name Misty Edwards is synonymous with artistically-minded worship leadership. But when it comes to the brand new release of ‘Little Bird,’ which comes on the heels of last year’s critically lauded long player ‘Only a Shadow,’ there’s a decidedly different slant towards the singer/songwriter side of this immensely talented artist.

One of the reasons there is a new direction heard on ‘Little Bird’ is that Misty wants to encourage others in the worship movement to think outside the box and not be limited to corporate expression.

“A lot of worship leaders feel limited and frustrated creatively, but we’re called to so much more as Christians, even when it comes to our typical definition of worship,” shares Misty. “I also wanted to channel the kind of music I personally listen to, so it’s also a case of being authentic to what I like. I strongly believe there’s a whole group of listeners who won’t gravitate towards worship music because they have a taste for a different kind of creativity, and it was in my heart to reach those people.”

On ‘Little Bird,’ Edwards continues to cling tightly to her faith, and for the first time in her extensive ministry, exposes several layers of personal reflection.

“Personally, I don’t think there is a line between the sacred and the secular,” Edwards suggests. “If a person is living before God’s eyes, everything is sacred. All of life is sacred, as opposed to trying to make church songs in one box and love songs in another box. I think we need to get rid of the separation. I hope these songs will land somewhere between encouraging people and leading them to ask questions about what they really believe. I hope to stir up conversations in their soul.”

Independently-minded, ‘Little Bird’ has the ability to take flight towards the spiritually thirsty of varying backgrounds that converge at the crossroads of musical and lyrical authenticity. The album features all-star production from the legendary, 14 Grammy Award-winning / 25 Dove Award-winning Brown Bannister, plus co-production from the Grammy-nominated Paul Moak (The Blind Boys of Alabama, Mat Kearney), who blend together ‘Little Bird’s’ earthy innovation with analogue experimentation, alongside a vast myriad of subject matter.

Though the tunes more than speak for themselves, some definite highlights include the xylophone and marimba-flanked title track, which comes from the clever, wisdom-bearing perspective of Misty as a young adult writing a letter to herself as a little girl. The multiple layers of guitars throughout ‘Sound Of A Heart’ dig into themes of forgiveness as it applies King David’s disastrous decisions and eventual redemption to our less publicly magnified struggles, while the pleading ‘Center Of The Universe’ traces Scripture’s prophetic promise of the Lord’s eventual return and examples of how we should strive to perpetually serve Him on the journey. The organic ‘Audience Of One’ perhaps best summarizes Misty’s most pertinent thoughts that regularly replay throughout her pensive mind.

“The frailty and purpose of life are what drives me the most, and I’ve always been so aware of both. I’m captivated by thoughts of eternity, who God is and I’m very consumed with serving an audience of one,” shares Edwards. “If you believe God is real and watching, that literally changes everything.”

Track Listing:

  • Womb of the Morning
  • Invisible One
  • Little Bird
  • Companion
  • Tightrope
  • Audience of One
  • Killing Me with Mercy
  • Sound of a Heart
  • Reprise
  • Summer Girl
  • Mary Mary
  • Center of the Universe

Website | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | iTunes

Leave a Reply