Planetshakers ‘LIMITLESS’ Review

Planetshakers LIMITLESS Album Review

Planetshakers are one of my favourite worship bands. They’re full of energy and are on the cutting edge of youthful worship music.

Their new album is titled ‘LIMITLESS’ and hopes to drive home the message that with Jesus there are no limits, to the soundtrack of their signature heavy Rock, Pop, athemic sound.

The first track ‘Let Praise Awaken’ is classic Planetshakers. Thick synths, Pop edge and a call and response style between the music and singing works well. The chorus and melody is perfect for singing along and I really enjoyed singing the chorus… “Everyday of my life I’ll praise You, every moment I’ll bless Your name, You have given me love unfailing h – e – y…”

The feel good factor and praise party feeling follows through to ‘Put Your Hands Up,’ a song of thanksgiving that cased me to reflect on God’s goodness in my life and in turn “put my hands up!”

The title track ‘LIMITLESS’ is a faith building song and is a musical feast. From sweet-sounding vocal melodies, to crunchy guitars, pounding drums and a rap section that sounds like something off a Linkin Park or Limp Bizkit record you get the feeling of breaking free… “There’s no limits with Jesus when we walk with Him. There’s no limits inside of us cause He lives within. We’re breaking every limitation, nothing’s gonna hold us back. We’ll keep exceeding the limits until He comes back.”

‘The Anthem’ is my favourite song on ‘LIMITLESS’. I’m not sure what it is about this song but it captures corporate worship in a special way… There’s something about the chord progression of the chorus and the lyrics that make this song an worship anthem that will impact the church. “Hallelujah, You have the won the victory. Hallelujah, You have won it all for me, death could not hold You down, You are the risen King, seated in Majesty, You are the risen King…”

“I know You’re for me, You’re not against me, You only have good thoughts about me. I know you love me, I know you’ve called me, I know You’ve got great things planned for me… Oh what a joy You’ve given me, Your love has set me free, Jesus You are all I need,” are lyrics that help me to say ‘I’m Gonna Praise’ even when I don’t feel like it. The lyrics that are taken from scripture are uplifting and powerful and serve as a reminder of the goodness of God.

‘Oh My Heart Sings’ is a song of thanksgiving for the love and grace of God, while ‘Rain’ asks for an outpouring of God, “We’re asking for Your rain, we’re asking for a shower, a Holy Spirit downpour…” ‘You Are Stronger’ reminds us that nothing is impossible for God and reinforces the whole concept of ‘LIMITLESS’. “No matter what may come my way, I know that you are bigger, no matter what people may say, I know that You’re greater, You can do all things, we lift our hands and sing…”

‘LIMITLESS’ is Planetshakers in full effect. This album doesn’t disappoint and continues on the trend of enthralling, full throttle, edgy Praise & Worship.  ‘LIMITLESS’ is more than a collection of songs… It’s a faith building experience that reminds us of how great God is and removes the limits we’ve put on God. Building faith comes from getting to know God and spending time in His presence and there are songs on the album that create the atmosphere of Worship and hone in on the love, grace and mercy of God.

While I loved the album and enjoyed it a lot, it didn’t stand out as much as previous albums. Although Planetshakers are consistent and always deliver it doesn’t feel like musically there’s been any progression from ‘Heal Our Land’ with many of the songs having a similar sound.

With that said though, ‘LIMITLESS’ is a strong album and has solid songs that are both enjoyable and worshipful.

Track List:

  • Let Praise Awaken
  • Put Your Hands Up
  • Limitless
  • Your Name Brings Healing To Me
  • Great Is Your Love
  • This One Thing
  • The Anthem
  • This Is The Day
  • I’m Gonna Praise
  • O My Heart Sings
  • Rain
  • You Are Stronger
  • Rise Up


Reviewed By Matt Brooks

1 Comment

  1. (@mbriomusic)

    January 23, 2013 at 1:45 am

    #OnMbrio: Planetshakers ‘LIMITLESS’ Review – Planetshakers are…

Leave a Reply