Rend Collective Experiment Take Worship To The Beach Around A ‘Campfire’ With New Album

Rend Collective Campire Album

The increasingly popular, exciting and enthralling Northern Ireland band that are taking the world by storm, Rend Collective Experiment are back with a new album with a unique and quirky concept titled ‘Campfire’ which is due for release on 28th January 2013.

Imagine intimate worship around the glow of embers and friendship. Imagine church as a shared celebration of our stories, struggles and lives. And imagine mission as the ignition of God’s people as they huddle closely around “The Consuming Fire.” With ‘Campfire’ you won’t have to imagine; you will be part of a special experience of worship and community recorded live on a beach in Northern Ireland featuring 12 songs that have been re-arranged from ‘The Organic Family Hymnal’ and ‘Homemade Worship By Handmade People’ with a few surprise additions.

Known for pushing artistic boundaries, the ‘Campfire’ project sees Rend Collective in their creative element, using inventive and often surprising new arrangements of material from their previous two albums to lead a small gathering of friends in worship around a Campfire. The vocals were recorded live in the great outdoors (around the Campfire) on Ballyholme beach after the invitation to participate was given via Facebook and Twitter. This is typical of the band’s desire to foster a sense of community and shared journeying as part of their worship.

“There are no outsiders in the Kingdom. That’s part of why we chose to record around the Campfire, shares Gareth Gilkeson.“Worship is not exclusive or confined within the walls of a church. It’s a flame for everyone to gather around.”

Sonically, ‘Campfire’ is a fresh and innovative take on the New-Folk and Indie genres, an Acoustic project by virtue of the fact that there are no electrical sockets on the beach. The album is entirely driven by classic, Retro Folk instruments that could be played by the fireside and by the ocean. The result is an album that captures the raw, rootsy, foot-stomping energy of the Irish worshippers, which has been infectious among audiences across the globe, as well as the vulnerability and intimacy of home group worship.

With imaginative instrumentation reminiscent of Sufjan Stevens, a kitschy charm like Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros and passionate song-crafting similar to Glen Hansard, ‘Campfire’ is exciting as a piece of art. But it can be much more than that. Gilkeson and his Rend Collective band-mates pray that this album is the spark that ignites a whole new approach to corporate worship and community life. Their hope is that church will no longer be a place where some people still feel alone and only spectators, but instead, church will be a place where each person can have a chance to share and give. To bring this vision to life, they will also be encouraging others to start their own community “Campfires” and will be providing a free Campfire Resource Pack for people to download from their website.

‘Campfire’ will be available through all major digital service providers, including iTunes and Amazon, from January 29th 2013.

‘Campfire’ – Daring us to re-imagine worship and community…

Track Listing:

  • Kumbaya
  • Come On
  • Desert Soul
  • Build Your Kingdom Here
  • Movements
  • You Are My Vision
  • You Bled
  • The Cost
  • Alabaster
  • Second Chance
  • 10,000 Reasons
  • Praise Like Fireworks

Website | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | iTunes

1 Comment

  1. (@mbriomusic)

    January 22, 2013 at 11:42 am

    #OnMbrio: Rend Collective Experiment Take Worship To The Beach…

Leave a Reply