Rend Collective ‘Homemade Worship By Handmade People’ Review

Rend Collective Experiment Homemade Worship By Handmade People

‘Homemade Worship By Handmade People’ is the latest album from Irish family (i use the word family because the come across more as a family than a band) the Rend Collective Experiment. I’ve been a fan of these guys since the ‘Organic Family Hymnal’ so i was excited about this new album.

Firstly i just have to say that sonically this album is amazing. They really captured a great sound and the combination of their own quirky style of worship blended with more contemporary music styles has worked a treat for them especially with the authentic Celtic sound that is present throughout the while project.

The album starts off with ‘Praise Like Fireworks’ which is an energetic song which immediately makes me imagine the Rend Collective guys in a big room with lots of different instruments making a joyful noise. The “firework’ energy definitely comes through in the music and vocals and i have to say, i’m loving the vocal arrangements and harmonies. This song has all the characteristics of a classic hymn.

‘You Are My Vision’ is more of the same, seeing the group put their own flavour on a well known him which they have performed live for years and has become a fan favourite.

I love the way ‘True Intimacy’ starts with the beautiful melody of the bells although i can’t help wondering if they’re water filled glasses knowing how creative these guys are. I also love the contrast of the unplugged, acoustic sound of the instruments blended with a synthetic and grooving drum beat. I also love the line “There’s nothing greater, than knowing you. You unlock my joy, you waken my joy…”

“We are your church, we need you power in us” are the lyrics that stand out on ‘Build Your Kingdom’ which is a song anyone passionate about the seeing God’s Kingdom manifested will love and be inspired by.

I love the placement of ‘Christ Has Set Me Free’ on the album and the way that dynamically even at it’s peak it’s still peaceful and mellow. The lyrics “Christ has set me free, from negativity, from impossibility, Oh Christ has set me free, all hope has been released, oh Christ has set me free.”

‘Alabaster’ took back to one of my favourite songs off the ‘Organic Family Hymnal,’ ‘You Are Love’ because of it’s atmospheric, stripped down sound and beautiful heart-felt lyrics and soothing melodies.

The Rend Collective Experiment have done a great job on ‘Homemade Worship By Handmade People’. One of the things that stands out most is the flow of the album and how it almost seems like one song; not because it all sounds the same but because it is actually one of those albums that sounds like a musical project and not a compilation of songs. It sounds well thought out, well written and well produced.

Track List:

  • Praise Like Fireworks
  • You are My Vision
  • The Cost
  • Second Chance
  • True Intimacy
  • Build Your Kingdom Here
  • Desert Soul
  • Christ Has Set Me Free
  • Keep Me Near
  • Alabaster
  • Shining Star


Reviewed By Matt Brooks

Official Website


  1. jamiedentims

    March 21, 2012 at 7:45 pm

    hi – re your ” fabric post” last sunday please send me an email and we will definatley sort you out these are excelent but used
    jamie d

  2. Read @MattJABrooks’ #Review of @RendCollective’s #HomemadeWorshipByHandmadePeople album here: cc @kingswayworship

  3. Read @MattJABrooks’ #Review of @RendCollective’s #HomemadeWorshipByHandmadePeople album here: cc @kingswayworship

  4. Read @MattJABrooks’ #Review of @RendCollective’s #HomemadeWorshipByHandmadePeople album here: cc @kingswayworship

  5. Check out Matt’s review of the Rend Collective Experiment’s latest album ‘Homemade Worship By Handmade People’

  6. M-Brio Newsflash: Rend Collective ‘Homemade Worship By Handmade People’ Review #Reviews #Acoustic #Album

Leave a Reply