Salt Of The Sound ‘Through The Mist’ EP Review

Salt Of The Sound Through The Mist EP Review

There’s always something special when a husband and wife do a God-centred project… Whether that’s because of the music that comes from them is the overflow of their worship and devotion as a couple or maybe it’s because the chemistry they share as a couple combusts in experimental composition… Either way there was something about husband and wife duo Anita & Ben Tatlow, who goes by the name (Salt Of The Sound) that made me take note before hearing any of their music.

Salt Of The Sound released ‘Through The Mist’ EP on 16th September 2014 following on from their 2013 album ‘Journeys’. Dubbing their music as “Reflective Christian Music,” Salt Of The Sound did not disappoint. From the first note to the last, ‘Through The Mist’ extracts the listener from their surroundings and takes them to a place of peace, serenity and soaking in a bath of musical reflection feeling every nuance of every wave washing over and revealing more of Christ through the mist of life.

A combination of electronic and acoustic production techniques create a fusion of textures that is ethereal, intangible and phantasmagoric. “Where do I begin… Where do I fit in…” instantly take the listener to a place of reflection and soul searching with its pulsing synths, soft strings subtle harmonies on ‘Where Do I Begin’ which is just the introduction of the EP.

‘Even The Wind And The Waves Obey Him’ is an instrumental that brings 1 Chronicles 16:32-33 to life… “[32] Let the sea resound, and all that is in it; let the fields be jubilant, and everything in them! [33] Let the trees of the forest sing, let them sing for joy before the Lord, for he comes to judge the earth.” The chord progressions feel like movements with angelic bells and panning that gives the feeling of movement like God roaming around the forest with all creation submitting and bowing to Him.

‘As The Mist Clears’ is a song of revelation where God is revealed… “When You are standing here, all that blinds me will disappear and all You are will be made known…” ‘I’ll Meet You Where You Are/Home To You’ closes out ‘Through The Mist’ with God speaking, “And if this dark place surrounds you when you’re caught in the middle of a storm… Just listen for my footsteps, see the light I’m shining for you and I’ll meet you… I’ll meet you where you are…” bringing closure to the project and reassuring the listener that no matter where you are or what you’re experiencing in life that God is always present.

‘Through The Mist’ is exactly what it says on the tin; “Reflective Christian Music”. The songs aren’t traditional verse, chorus, verse, bridge, chorus kind of songs… The lyrics are sparse but meaningful leaving enough space to soak and reflect and hear God speak. You won’t find riffs and vocal acrobatics or flashy musical arrangements but it would be hard to imagine anyone sitting down with this album, being still and getting away from the noise and not feeling the peace of God, reflecting on life and allowing God to be found in the mist of life.

The concept and inspiration behind ‘Through The Mist’ comes from 1 Corinthians 13:12:

“We don’t yet see things clearly. We’re squinting in a fog, peering through a mist. But it won’t be long before the weather clears and the sun shines bright! We’ll see it all then, see it all as clearly as God sees us, knowing him directly just as he knows us!” (The Message Bible)

Track List: 

  • Where Do I Begin
  • Make Me Wait
  • Even The Wind And The Waves Obey Him
  • It Must Be Hope (Evening Mix)
  • As The Mist Clears
  • I’ll Meet You Where You Are / Home To You


 Reviewed By Matt Brooks

Website | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | iTunes