Spring Harvest ‘Bottled At The Source: Live From Spring Harvest’ Review

Bottled At The Source Live From Spring Harvest

When I received the new ‘Bottled At The Source: Live From Spring Harvest’ album I had no intention of reviewing it… Every year new albums are released from the various Christian festivals that take place here in the UK and for the most part, many of them are glorified compilation albums comprised of songs that are already released. After looking at the track list and seeing that I knew near enough every song on this album already (and even have the albums from which they came), I put it to one side.

For some reason I decided to put ‘Bottled At The Source: Live From Spring Harvest’ on in the office and what I heard and experienced was not what I expected.

‘This Is What You Do’ starts the album off, a song that I love as it really represents the season that I’m in right now, “It’s always like spring time with You, making all things new, Your love is breaking through the dark…” Like flowers that have just begun to bud, there’s a vitality about this song, bursting with life and vivid colours, excitement and hope as I sang along “This is what You do, this is what You do, You make me come alive…”

Serenity is the word that came to mind while listening to ‘Your Presence is Heaven To Me,’ which takes on a British sounding Folk/Rock approach with ethereal textures and sounds that express an unearthly, celestial peace and warmth in the presence of God, singing, “Your presence is Heaven to me…”

The buoyance of ‘What A Friend We Have’ instantly had me singing along… There’s something about the timeless lyrics sung in the verses and chorus that bridges the gap between old and new helping to introduce the timeless truth of a classic hymn to a new generation, all while highlighting what a beautiful relationship we have in God… “What a friend we have in Jesus, what a friend we have in You, for He knows us and He holds us in His hands… And His grace is never failing, and His love without an end… What a friend we have in Jesus, what a friend we have in Him…”

‘I Surrender’ took me into a deep place of personal worship and devotion every time I listened to it, humbling me and creating a deeper sense of needing God even more. “Drench my soul, as mercy and grace unfolds, I hunger and thirst…” As the song reaches its climax there’s a divine exchange as the song beckons for God to have His way in us, “Like a rushing wind, Jesus breathes within, Lord have Your way, Lord have Your way, in me… Like a mighty storm, stir within in my soul, Lord have Your way, Lord have Your way, in me…”

I love ‘Here Is Jesus’ for many reasons but for one mainly… Every time Lara Martin sings the chorus, “Here is Jesus, it’s all about to change, here is Jesus, it’s resurrection day” it feels like Jesus is literally showing up as Saviour and King to save the day reminding us that we don’t just have a friend in Jesus, we have a Saviour too, one that brings hope, peace and is truth and life.

‘Let The People Say’ is very congregational and the call and response is engaging, enjoying praising God singing about His goodness.

‘You’re Beautiful/When I Survey’ is a song of adoration and worship and a reminder of the most beautiful act of love the world will ever see… “I see You there, hanging on a tree, you bled and then You died and then You rose again for me…” The mellow, congregational hymn ‘When I Survey’ focuses our hearts and thoughts on the significance of the cross with beauty and splendour.

‘Cornerstone,’ a song inspired from the immortal hymn ‘On Christ The Solid Rock I Stand’ affirms our faith and cements our feet in the in truth of the nature of our God…”Christ alone, cornerstone, weak made strong, in the Saviour’s love… Through the storm, He is Lord, Lord of all…”

“You make beautiful things, You make beautiful things out of the dust… You make beautiful things, You make beautiful things out of us,” opens this enchanting, refreshing song which is to me as the morning dew is to budding flowers in spring time, invigorating and nourishing.

‘Bottled At The Source: Live From Spring Harvest’ starts and finishes reminding us that God is able to (in essence) make all things new with a strong emphasis on seasons and growth and everything in between. As the album plays out you are taken on a journey being drawn in further by each song into the atmosphere of worship at Spring Harvest.

For me, ‘Bottled At The Source: Live From Spring Harvest’ isn’t about the worship leaders, it’s about the songs and the end project is true to the title “Bottled At The Source” as to play this album is literally to open the bottle of worship experienced at Spring Harvest and drink from that fountain as if you were there no matter where you are.

Track List:

  • This Is What You Do
  • Your Love Never Fails
  • Your Presence is Heaven
  • Waiting Here For You
  • What A Friend We Have
  • I Surrender
  • Set A Fire
  • Here Is Jesus
  • Freedom
  • Let The People Say
  • Break Every Chain
  • You’re Beautiful/When I Survey
  • Rain
  • Cornerstone
  • Beautiful Things


Reviewed By Matt Brooks

Website | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | iTunes

Leave a Reply