Xist Music ‘MOVE Vol. 1′ Compilation Review

Xist Music MOVE Vol. 1

Xist Music are set to release ‘Xist Music Presents: MOVE Vol. 1’ on 28th August 2012. The 13 song CD is the first instalment of the label’s compilation series released through Infinity/Central South Distribution. Featuring a who’s who roster of Hip Hop and Urban Gospel artist’s including GRAMMY®, Dove and Stellar Award superstars Da’ T.R.U.T.H., The Ambassador, Sean Simmonds, Jessica Reedy, B. Reith, Canton Jones, Trip Lee, Jai and representing the UK, Jahaziel I couldn’t wait to hear what this project would offer and the creative lyricism and hard hitting beats I knew it would bring to the table.

Da’ T.R.U.T.H and The Amassador kick off ‘MOVE Vol. 1’ with truck-loads of energy, passion, and a hard hitting crunk-style beats on the compilation opener ‘Change’ which features Jin. In true Da’ T.R.U.T.H. and The Ambassador style they deliver with awesome lyrics… “It’s inside out not the other way and this is not the time for you to run away, Jesus came to show us all another way…”

I love how the vibe changed on ‘Supernova’ which had me nodding my head from the moment it started… It’s got that old school Hip Hop swing with the melodic, symphonious tones of sweet R&B vocals… Definitely top down music letting us know that God isn’t just a start… He’s a Supernova.

I was excited to hear what B. Reith would bring to the table… He did not disappoint and I was happy to hear him bring his laid back, but still fresh flow and clever word-play to the table on ‘Open Windows’ with Yaves and Th3ory Hazit… I love the line “Closed doors open windows.”

‘Only 1 For Me’ brought a whole new flavour to the project… Led by an acoustic guitar and backed by a driving four-to-the-floor drum beat and passionate delivery from N.F and Shuree Williams it has a sound that will appeal to the masses and I wouldn’t be surprised if it became a stand-out track from the project. I love the conviction in N.F’s lyrics represented well by these lyrics that resonated with me… “And I aint gotta worry bout you leaving me broken and I aint gotta worry about you leaving me hopeless, You are what hope is and I put my hope in, you alone and I want the world to know this.”

As a British person I was elated to hear the sound of Jahaziel’s voice on ‘Fly High’… He didn’t play around either delivering soul-gripping and convicting lyrics from the start… I had to re-load the first verse a few times “No Samson but if my eye offends me I aint trying to be friendly I die to whatever tempts me. Throwing sand bags over the side for altitude, rather go to Heaven with one eye than to hell with 2…” Z.G brings his flavour to the song too adding some nice harmonious melodies throughout the song.

All I can say about ‘Live It Up’ is Meek Millz, J. Cole, and Tyga… Eat your hearts out… From the beat to the realness and content of their lyrics, The Ambassador and Trip Lee have breathed fire on ‘Live It Up’ with a message that I think is especially relevant to those who are unsaved…

Da’ T.R.U.T.H challenged me massively on ‘Missing Piece’ which speaks of us being the missing piece to the puzzle of the world and us spending so much time being Heavenly minded that we’re no earthly good… Definitely a song that will challenge us to be more active socially and in our communities and the world at large!

‘MOVE (Chasing After You)’ is the title track for the compilation and features Da’ T.R.U.T.H., The Ambassador, Sean Simmonds, Jessica Reedy, Jai and DJ Mal-Ski who all bring their unique individuality and styles to the song for what is one of the most exciting collaborations in Urban Christian music in years.

The ‘MOVE Vol. 1’ compilation has been put together really well… From track placement to the styles presented I’m impressed… Whilst I have a great appreciation for Hip Hop/Urban music styles it’s not my ‘go to’ genre… However (at least for the near future) the only place I’ll be going to for my Hip Hop/Urban fix is this compilation.

I’m amazed at how so many artists are represented but it still feels more like an album than a compilation

Track Listing:

  • Change – Da’ T.R.U.T.H. and The Ambassador featuring Jin
  • ‘Supernova – Sean Simmonds featuring Canton Jones
  • ‘Open Windows’ – Yaves featuring B. Reith and Th3ory Hazit
  • ‘All I Need’ – Sho Baraka, Alex Faith and R. Swift featuring Sean Simmonds
  • Straight – Andalé, Pro and D-Maub
  • ‘Only One’ – N.F. featuring Shuree Williams
  • ‘Fly High’ – Jahaziel featuring Z.G
  • ‘Live It Up’ – The Ambassador featuring Trip Lee
  • ‘Coeur De Leon’ – Yaves
  • ‘Midnight Star’ – R-Swift featuring Pastor AD3 and Daisy Fontaine
  • ‘Missing Piece’ – Da’ T.R.U.T.H.
  • ‘No More Waiting’ – Rhema Soul
  • ‘MOVE (Chasing After You)’ – Da’ T.R.U.T.H., The Ambassador, Sean Simmonds, Jessica Reedy, Jai, DJ Mal-Ski


Reviewed By Matt Brooks

Website | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube

Leave a Reply